Students and staff at Oceanside High School took part Oct. 14 in the school’s inaugural Pride Assembly. In front of a packed auditorium of students, teachers, staff and invited parents, 12 students were singled out for their outstanding qualities and personal strengths, both in and outside of the classroom.

The Pride Assembly has been initiated to recognize the achievements of the students and will be held bimonthly, with the next assembly held in December.

“Celebrating student success with a school-wide assembly is a great way to showcase the outstanding students we have at OHS,” said Principal Jen Curtis. Students were acknowledged for, their grit, engagement in learning, willingness to support their peers, leadership and civic contributions, among other things.

Students were nominated by faculty and then all nominees were voted on by faculty and staff. Individual staff provided the administration with examples of what they felt were a student’s best qualities. Each student received an Oceanside Pride Award certificate and a T-shirt specially designed and printed for those who will be accorded the honor throughout the school year. Photos of the students will hang in the high school lobby until the next assembly.

The inaugural group of Pride award winners are: Krista Butler (ninth grade); Philomena Marsh and Uriah Thongsophaphone (10th grade); Krystal Ryan and Elliott Spear (11th grade); Yarik Philbrook, Jaymie McMahon, Lily McVetty, Nathan Hersom, Mitchell Delfrate, Lauren Hatch and Emily Davis (12th grade).