The Lincoln County News invites the public to hear directly from local candidates for the Maine State Legislature during its candidates' forum Thursday, Oct. 13.

The forum will take place in Skidompha Public Library's Porter auditorium at 6 p.m., Thursday, Oct. 13. Skidompha is at 184 Main St. in downtown Damariscotta, although the easiest access to the auditorium is through the back entrance on Elm Street.

Lincoln County News Editor J.W. Oliver will moderate the forum, which will begin with brief introductions from the candidates. Oliver will then pose a series of questions to the candidates about state issues and encourage the candidates to discuss the issues among themselves. If time allows, he will invite questions from the audience.

Lincoln County Television will record the forum for broadcast at a later date.

Light refreshments will be available.

The forums are free and open to the public.


The Damariscotta forum will feature the candidates for Senate District 13 and House Districts 88, 90, and 91.

Sen. Christopher K. “Chris” Johnson, D-Somerville, and Dana L. Dow, R-Waldoboro, are the candidates for Senate District 13, which consists of all Lincoln County except Dresden, plus Washington and Windsor.

Rep. Deborah J. “Deb” Sanderson, R-Chelsea, and James R. “Jim” Torbert, D-Whitefield, are the candidates for House District 88, which consists of Chelsea, Jefferson, part of Nobleboro and Whitefield.

Rep. Michael G. “Mick” Devin, D-Newcastle, and Roberta C. “Robin” Mayer, R-Damariscotta, are the candidates for House District 90, which consists of Bremen, Bristol, Damariscotta, Newcastle, part of Nobleboro and part of South Bristol.

Abden S. Simmons, R-Waldoboro, and Dr. Emily Trask-Eaton, D-Waldoboro, are the candidates for House District 91, which consists of Friendship, part of Union, Waldoboro and Washington.