The Maine Arts Commission has announced its 2016-17 grant award winners. At its July meeting, MAC approved the process for competitive awards to artists, nonprofit arts organizations and arts educators throughout the state, from Eastport to South Paris and Saco to Houlton.

“We’re thrilled to support a greater number of artists, organizations, schools, and communities than last year, broadening our impact, as we continue to see the need for such support grow in an increasing number of applications,” said executive director Julie Richard.

Several programs saw 50 percent increases in the number of organizations funded over the previous year including the Arts Learning, Organizational Development and Partnership Grant programs. The competitive awards, as scored by panel reviews in a process approved by the Commission, include eight Creative Aging grants; 33 Project Grants for Artists; 37 Project Grants for Organizations; 19 Arts Learning Grants; 17 Partnership Grants across organizations in three different categories based on the size of their operating budgets; 14 Organization Development Grants; three CCED Cultural Planning Grants to Portland, Houlton, and Skowhegan; and two Jane Morrison Film Scholarships.

In all, $377,000 was distributed in this round with several programs remaining to be adjudicated and funded including the Maine Artist Fellowships and Traditional Arts Apprenticeship programs. Midcoast grant winners include Lincolnville Central and Monhegan schools; Waterfall Arts; Farnsworth Art Museum; the Island Institute; Maine Media Workshops+College; Points North Institute; Everyman Repertory Theatre; and artists Michelle Hauser, Elaine Ng and Brian Reid of Rockland; and Thomas Moore of Belfast.

The complete list of awardees and locations is at For more information about the Maine Arts Commission’s programs and services, visit the website; and/or contact Senior Grants Director Kathy Ann Shaw at

Courier Publications’ A&E Editor Dagney C. Ernest can be reached at (207) 594-4401, ext. 115; or