It could have been the late-summer heat, the humidity or the last-minute change of a team being scrapped from the competition, but scoring was down during the 32nd annual Coastal Field Hockey Play Day Championships on Monday, Aug. 25 at Belfast Area High School.

But, a win is a win. And as far as Camden Hills is concerned, the Windjammers will take it.

The Windjammers, led by second-year coach Lindsey Clement, broke a streak of five straight years of Waldo County squads winning the preseason high school tourney — and 19 of the last 20 — as they secured 20 points on the day to claim the event crown.

Mount View of Thorndike, winners of last year’s tourney, finished second with 16 points, while Oceanside of Rockland/Thomaston and Belfast tied for third with 12 points.

It is the second time Camden Hills has won the competition, the other year coming in 2009.

Click for photos from this year's event.

Brunswick, on the tournament's original schedule, did not show for the competition, so the decision was made that the fifth team would be a smattering of junior varsity players — or varsity players who were not expected to see a great deal of playing time on the day — from all four participating Midcoast teams.

The auxiliary team did not score in the competition, nor did the team that played against it in any given game.

Thus, each team played three games against one another, as opposed to four in previous years when five varsity squads participated in the event.

Heat more than played a factor in the tournament as the temperatures hit nearly 90 degrees on the day, coupled with high humidity, which played a role in many spectators finding spots in the shade to take in the action.

The tournament, which began in 1983, is an unofficial kickoff to the fall season for many Midcoast stick squads, though several teams took part in a large field hockey play day in Winslow on Saturday, Aug. 23.

Scoring for the tournament is unconventional.

Goals are five points, while shots on goal that would have been scored a goal, but were saved by the goalie (or another player), one point. The tournament champion is determined by who compiles the most amount of points through four games.

Games are 25 minutes running time.

Tournament scores for varsity squads included: Camden Hills 7, Belfast 3; Mount View 5, Oceanside 1; Camden Hills 6, Mount View 0; Oceanside 5, Belfast 2; Camden Hills 7, Oceanside 6; and Mount View 11, Belfast 7.

Former tourney champions include: 1983 — Georges Valley; 1984 — Belfast; 1985 — Belfast; 1986 — Belfast; 1987 — Searsport; 1988 — Belfast; 1989 — Belfast; 1990 — Belfast; 1991 — Belfast; 1992 — Belfast; 1993 — Belfast; 1994 — Rockland; 1995 — Belfast; 1996 — Belfast; 1997 — Belfast; 1998 — Belfast; 1999 — Belfast; 2000 — Mount View; 2001 — Belfast; 2002 — Belfast; 2003 — Belfast; 2004 — Belfast; 2005 — Belfast; 2006 — Belfast; 2007 — Belfast; 2008 — Camden Hills; 2009 — Mount View; 2010 — Mount View; 2011 — Belfast; 2012 — Belfast; and 2013 — Mount View.