The First Bancorp announced May 21 Daniel R. Daigneault, president and chief executive officer of the company and its wholly-owned banking subsidiary, The First, N.A., has informed the Board of Directors of his intent to retire in early 2015.

The company also announced the Board of Directors has named Tony C. McKim, currently executive vice president and chief operating officer, as president and chief operating officer of the bank effective June 1. McKim will eventually succeed Daigneault.

At the time of his retirement, Daigneault will have served as chief executive officer of the bank for nearly 21 years and will have been the longest-serving in the bank’s 150-year history.

McKim, 47, joined the company upon completion of the 2005 merger with FNB Bankshares and its subsidiary, The First National Bank of Bar Harbor. A graduate of the University of Maine in Orono, McKim is involved in several Hancock County associations, including Harbor House, The Maine Seacoast Mission, as well as Acadian Youth Sports. McKim and his family will relocate closer to the company’s headquarters in Lincoln County at a future date.

The First, N.A. was originally chartered as The First National Bank of Damariscotta in 1864 and was the 446th institution to be created under the National Bank Act. Today it is the 18th oldest national bank in the United States.