Announcing recently that Sen. Chris Johnson, D-Somerville was selected by Lincoln County Democrats to receive the 2014 Frances Perkins Award, former recipient Betsy Wooster said, "Johnson's unswerving service to his community, to Lincoln County and to the entire state played a large part in the decision to choose him. He is an effective leader and an effective legislator, and his work in both the Maine State Legislature and the communities he serves will help Maine families and small businesses for many years.” Wooster is a founding member of the Frances Perkins Club of the Lincoln County Democratic Committee.

An important mission of The Frances Perkins Club of LCDC, founded in 1996, is to pay tribute to outstanding Democrats of Lincoln County. Johnson joins the list of many distinguished recipients preceding him, including Bill Blodgett, 2003, a former state legislator and Lincoln County's first Democratic County Commissioner since before the Civil War; Daphne Stern, 2005, whose social conscience and contributions to human and civil rights activities were part of her desire for Tikkun Olam, a Hebrew phrase meaning "healing the world"; Wendy Pieh, 2010, who served two terms in the state legislature; Laura Fortman 2010, who served as Maine Commissioner of Labor and Director of the non-affiliated Frances Perkins Center; and Lisa Miller, 2012, who served three terms in the state legislature and helped to found the Maine Center for Economic Policy.

The awards dinner to honor Johnson will be held Saturday, May 17, at 6 p.m. at the Waters Edge Function and Banquet Facility in Edgecomb. For more information, contract Betsy Wooster at 832-7764.