Thomas College announces spring 2013 dean’s list

WATERVILLE — Area students who were named to the dean's list at Thomas College for the spring 2013 semester are: Sara Gilmore of Rockland, majoring in psychology; Adam Carlsen of Rockport, majoring in accounting; Damian Miller of West Rockport, majoring in accounting; Jacob Smith of West Rockport, majoring in sport management; Scott Smith of West Rockport, majoring in management.

Norman makes dean's list at RIT

ROCHESTER, N.Y. — Michael Norman of South Thomaston, a fourth-year student in the information technology program in RIT's B. Thomas Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences, made the dean's list for the spring 2013 quarter.

Evergreen Energy adviser honored with scholarship

ROCKLAND — Ham Niles, energy adviser at Evergreen Home Performance, was honored recently with a Next Step Maine Scholarship. The scholarship was awarded by the Maine Development Foundation, and will enable Niles to pursue advanced thermography training at the Infrared Training Center in Boston in July.

Thermal imaging, or thermography, is a technology that allows one to see thermal energy or heat. Energy auditors like Niles use infrared cameras to assess heat loss and to determine where air sealing and insulation can increase a building’s energy efficiency. The Infrared Training Center is internationally respected, and its certification is the gold-standard qualification within the thermography industry. The Next Step Scholarship will cover about one-third of the cost of the four-day certification program; Evergreen Home Performance will cover the rest.

Henderson makes dean's list at Georgia Southern University

STATESBORO, GA. — Georgia Southern University recently named 2,444 students as 2013 spring semester dean's list honorees. Rebecca Henderson from South Thomaston, has been named to the list for excellence in academics. To be eligible for the dean's list, a student must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester.

Rockland Elks local scholarship winners

ROCKLAND — The Rockland Lodge of Elks 1008 hosted six local scholarship recipients and their parents at a special lodge dinner on June 25.

Each of the students received a $2,000 scholarship from the Elks Lodge to help defray their college educational costs this coming year. There were 94 local students who submitted applications in this year’s competition which was the largest pool of applications in recent history. Eight students were awarded $2,000 scholarships. The students and their parents were served a meal of steak, potatoes, peas, and dessert. The students introduced their parents to the membership and shared their college plans and vocational goals.

Rockland Lodge President & Scholarship Committee Chairman Bill Bachofner said that Rockland Lodge through its members participates additionally with the Elks National Foundation in awarding more than $3.7 million in annual college scholarship awards.

The 2013 Rockland Elks Scholarship winners were:

Medomak Valley High School — Catherine Brassard (University of Prince Edward Island, biology/pre-vet), Desiree Leary (Husson University, biology/pre-med), Jesi Keene (University of Maine Augusta, vet-tech);

Oceanside High School — Allison Hawksley (Eastern Maine Community College, liberal studies/pre-radiography) and Bethany Schulberg (University of Maine Orono, chemical engineering);

Camden Hills Regional High School — Tia Silviero (Plymouth State University, business) and Jalina Brown (Universty of Maine Orono, film/new media); and

Coastal Christian School — Logan Robitaille (Maine Maritime Academy, Marine Transportation Operations).