The Maine State Library and the Maine Library Association announce the participants in the first Maine Library Leadership Institute.

Participants are: Ann Filley, Rockport Public Library; Samantha Cote, Jackson Public Library; Kara Reiman, Walker Memorial Library; Kate Pickup-McMullin, Southwest Harbor Library; Sonya Durney, Portland Public Library; Devin Burritt, Wells Public Library; Beth Kane, Norway Public Library; and Holly Williams, Pittsfield Public Library.

Marcela Peres, Lewiston Public Library and Jeanne Madden, Falmouth Memorial are alternates.

The Maine Leadership Institute is a year-long program to prepare library leaders to bring effective and innovative services to Maine citizens to meet the challenges of today and the future. The program is funded in part by a grant from the Maine Community Foundation.

The kickoff event for the institute is the week-long New England Library Association's New England Library Leadership Symposium in July, led by Maureen Sullivan, the current president of the American Library Association. Each month the cohort will meet to learn about and discuss solutions to challenges facing the library profession.The participants will work with a mentor and also be responsible for designing and completing a project that will address Maine library needs. The year will culminate with a presentation of the projects at a state-wide meeting of librarians.