Local municipal positions are up for grabs in Appleton, Camden, Hope, Lincolnville and Rockport; none of the races are contested.



Open seats in Appleton include one planning board associate member for a 2-year term; two 3-year term planning board members; two 3-year Appleton Village School school board members; one Five Town CSD school board member for a 3-year term and one selectman seat for a 3-year term.

According to Town Clerk Pamela Smith, there are several positions for which nomination papers were not taken out or returned. For the two 3-year planning board seats, Charles Buell and Edward Carroll returned papers. Current Selectman Denise Pease has returned papers for her expiring term. Jessica Davis has returned nomination papers for one of the 3-year terms on Appleton Village School board. The remainder of the positions — associate planning board member, one Appleton Village School board member and a Five Town CSD school board member — will appear blank on the ballot, Smith said.

Elections are scheduled for June 11 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Appleton Town Office, located at 2915 Sennebec Road. The annual town meeting will take place at 7 p.m. June 12 at Appleton Village School.

Absentee ballots are expected to be available by May 10.



Several positions are up for election in June in Camden, including one select board seat, two school board positions and one personnel board member.

Select Board Chairman Martin Cates' term expires in June, as does personnel committee member Rick Rector's term. Cates has returned his nomination papers for select board, according to Town Clerk Katrina Oakes, but no papers were returned for personnel board.

John Lewis is the only person seeking election to the school board. Oakes said four people took out nomination papers for the two available positions, so one likely will be a write-in candidate.

Elections will take place June 11 at the Camden Public Safety Building. Polling hours are from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Absentee ballots will be available by May 13.

Annual town meeting is scheduled for June 12 at 7 p.m. at Camden Opera House.




Voters in Hope will choose two selectman, assessor and overseer of the poor (3-year positions) this year. The positions currently filled by Eric Campbell and Tim Pearse expire in June, according to the town website. Town Clerk Rosanna Bowman said Jim Annis, Chris Pinchbeck and Tim Leach returned papers seeking election as selectmen.

Budget committee positions currently filled by Joseph Berry, John Jensen and William Pearse Jr. expire in June, according to the town website. Each are 3-year terms. Returning papers for those positions are William Pearse Jr., John Jensen and Edward “Ted” Steele.

According to the town website, Judith Pearse and Stephanie Southworth each fill Hope School Board positions expiring in June. Brian Powers Sr. and Mike Pierce both returned nomination papers for those positions.

The term of representative to Five Town CSD, Elizabeth Borch, also is set to expire, according to the town website. Bowman said there are no candidates who returned papers in time to be listed on the ballot for the Five Town CSD board.

The town of Hope election will be Tuesday, June 11. Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the town office.

The open town meeting will be June 17 at 7 p.m. in the Hope Elementary School gymnasium.





There are several municipal positions available in Lincolnville, including one board of selectmen position for a 3-year term currently filled by Rosey Gerry; three budget committee positions for 3 years and one budget committee position for one year; a 3-year term on Lincolnville Central School school committee and a 2-year term on Lincolnville Central School school committee; a 3-year term on Consolidated School District school committee and a 2-year term on the Consolidated School District school committee.

Town Administrator David Kinney said Gerry had returned nomination papers for select board; as did MIchael Cummons Jr. for a 2-year term on Lincolnville Central School school committee and Christine Burnstien for a 2-year term on the Five Town CSD school committee.

Those interested in joining the budget committee for 3-year terms include James Sinclair, D. Tracy Colby and Cecil Dennison.

Kinney said no nomination papers were returned for 3-year terms on Lincolnville Central School committee and Five Town CSD school committee as well as a 1-year term on the budget committee.


Rockport — Nomination papers for one select board member, three budget committee members, two library committee members and one School Administrative District 28 school board director have been returned to Rockport Town Office.

The three-year term on the select board currently filled by Tracy Lee Murphy is open for election June 11. Murphy has returned her nomination papers.

Budget committee member three-year terms expiring are those of Sharon Stone and Jan Rosenbaum as well as a vacancy — both Stone and Rosenbaum returned nomination papers, as well as John Viehman.

Seats filled by three-year term library committee members Janice Baldwin and Cate Monroe are up for election — four people took out papers but only Stephanie Kumble and Monroe returned them. Gretchen Richards' three-year term as director for SAD 28, serving concurrently on Five Town Community School District board, also is open for nomination and Richards returned nomination papers seeking to retain the position.

Elections will take place at the town office, Tuesday, June 11, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. and town meeting is Wednesday, June 12, at 7 p.m. at Rockport Opera House.