Another windy, cool day did not stop racers and fans from heading to Wiscasset Speedway April 13. It was week two division racing and included Strictly Streets, Mini Trucks, Outlaw Minis, Late Model Sportsman and the flex race of the week was a 10-lap backwards race.

Starting the action was the Strictly Streets feature. First in the lineup was Brian Robbins of Montville. Robbins took the lead in the 20-lap event. He maintained a solid lead, but faltered during the final two laps. That allowed Guy Childes Sr. of Turner an opportunity to sweep away with the lead. Corey Morgan of Lewiston and Tasha Dyer of Arrowsic, battled for second and third, respectively.

Chad Binette of Arundel had the first-place start in the Mini Trucks feature after winning the heat. Binette had an early lead, but Kristopher Knox of Sanford was hot on his heels, racing for first. With two laps remaining, Knox snuck inside and passed Binette, to snatch the lead. After an unsuccessful attempt to recapture the lead, Binette placed second with Knox taking the win in this 15-lap race. Rounding out the top three was Opie Allard of Harpswell.

The flex race of the week was a 10-lap backwards race. Kevin Sherman and Brian Chadwick, both of Wiscasset, fought for the win the entire race. Sherman zipped about the track, wove through lap traffic, and bumped Chadwick out of the way. Sherman took first and Chadwick second, while Randy Henderson was third.

Next on the roster was a 20-lap Outlaw Minis feature. George Fortin of Greene won the heat to put him in starting position. Fortin was Rookie of the Year at Oxford Plains Speedway. Fortin and Matt Moore of Mechanic Falls fought for first, but Fortin held on. A caution at lap seven after spin outs on the track by Greg Cummings of Augusta, and Ozzie Cummings of Vassalboro, caused a restart. Moore made an attempt to pass Fortin, but was hung out to dry. Jimmy Childs of Leeds, saw a chance, and slid into second. Fortin held the lead, placing first. Second went to Childs, with third going to Moore,

T.J. Watson of Cundy’s Harbor led the action onto the track for the 45-lap Late Model Sportsman class feature race. Watson led the race for the first 10 laps, closely tailed by Doug Coombs of Livermore and Mike Orr of Wiscasset.

On lap 10, Watson and Coombs bumped together and brought the first caution of the race. After the caution, Watson dropped to the back, and Orr took the lead, with Tyler Robbins of Montville close behind. They were followed by Shane Lane of Kingsfield.

Coombs, having dropped to the back of the pack, wove through traffic, passed Lane, and took third. Then, in a tight race for second, Coombs overtook Robbins, and secured the spot. Robbins experienced exhaust issues forcing the second caution, which brought him to the back of the pack after a pit stop.

The lead group with seven laps to go was Combs, Orr, Lane and Watson. The four hugged together, and in a close race, they sped to the finish. Zipping down the track, Watson came from fourth to second in the final two laps. Winners at the end were Coombs in first, Watson second, Orr third and Lane fourth.

Wiscasset Speedway resumes racing action on Saturday, April 20 with its group two lineup of divisions: Prostock, Superstock, New England 4-cylinder Prostock (formerly Allison Legacy cars), Thunder 4 and the flex race of the week will be Wicked Good Vintage Racer’s.

Pit gates open at 8 a.m. Grandstand gates open at 11 a.m. Racing begins at 1 p.m. Admission is $5 for adults and children aged seven and older. Childen ages six and under are free.

For more information, go to the Wiscasset Speedway website at

Individual race results from April 13 were:

Strictly Street — 1, Guy Childs Sr., Turner; 2, Corey Morgan, Lewiston; 3, Tasha Dyer, Arrowsic; 4, Bryan Robbins, Montville; 5, Mike Bradstreet, No town given; 6, Jerry Freve, Buckfield; 7, Chuck Gray, Wiscasset; 8, Zac Poland, Woolwich; 9, Josh Toothaker, Greene; and 10, Thomas Smith, Boothbay.

Mini Trucks — 1, Kristopher Knox, Sanford; 2, Chad Binette-Arundel; 3, Opie Allard-Harpswell; 4, Kevin Oliver, town unavailable; and 5, Ryan Hayes, Jefferson.

Backwards Race Flex Race Feature — 1, Kevin Sherman, Wiscasset; 2, Ryan Chadwick, Wiscasset; 3, Randy Henderson, West Paris; 4, Adam Chadbourn, Woolwich; 5, Brent Freve, town unavailable.

Outlaw Mini — 1, George Fortin, Greene; 2, Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 3, Matt Moore, Mechanic Falls; 4, Calvin Rose, Turner; 5, Darrell Moore, Oxford; 6, Greg Cummings, Augusta; and 7, Ozzie Cummings, Vassalboro.

Late Model Sportsman — 1, Doug Coombs, Livermore; 2, T.J. Watson, Cundy’s Harbor; 3, Mike Orr, Wiscasset; 4, Shane Lane, Kingsfield; 5, Tyler Robbins, Montville; 6, Steve Minott, Windham; and 7, Alex Waltz, Walpole.

Courier Publications sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at