Visitors can experience exciting images of the past at Thomaston Historical Society’s Knox Farmhouse Museum, 80 Knox St. in Thomaston. The museum has refreshed and updated its displays for the 2011 season, and it is open Tuesdays through Thursdays between 2 and 4 p.m. from June through the end of September, or by special appointment by calling 354-4121 or 354-2314. Admission to the museum is free, and visitor donations are gratefully accepted.

Thomaston Historical Society Curator Margaret McCrea said: “We have an amazing collection of artifacts and interesting stories to share, and I hope local people and visitors will come to see us this summer. The Knox Farmhouse is the only remaining dwelling of the original 18th Century General Henry Knox Montpelier estate in its original location, and it served as the Thomaston railroad depot until 1956, so the building itself is of great historic interest.”

Inside the museum, an area dedicated to Thomaston’s booming shipbuilding and maritime industries of the 19th century displays early tools and instruments and provides details on area shipyards and locally built vessels. There also is a model of the Alfred D. Snow, a Thomaston-built ship that tragically sunk off the coast of Ireland in 1888 with all on board lost.

The museum features displays of early objects representing domestic Thomaston, such as: a Thomaston marble fireplace mantle; a 19th century jug made by local potter, James Tarbox; and many locally made products, signs, and vintage photographs. And, there are insights into many notable past residents of Thomaston.

A new exhibit explores Thomaston’s contributions to the Revolutionary War and Civil War, and to the First and Second World Wars.

Memories of the early days of the Maine State Prison are brought to life with an exhibit featuring a model of the first prison, confiscated weapons, and other memorabilia. Finally, there is an exhibit of items representing this area’s lime, cement and marble industries.

Incorporated in 1971, the Thomaston Historical Society was organized to collect, promote and preserve material that illustrates the history of Thomaston, and to make it accessible for those who wish to study it.