Residents favored Lyle Cramer over Doris Vertz for selectman in Union by a vote of 241 to 198.

Cramer, who grew up in Union, served for eight years as a city council member in Westbrook and later as chairman of the County Commissioners for Cumberland County. Cramer worked for 32 years as a guidance counselor.

Vertz, a nursing expert, was endorsed by the Union Tea Party in the election.

“I’m feeling great,” Cramer said June 15. “I can’t wait to get to work and start helping the other selectmen do the work of the town.”

He said he would like to implement a second reading system, which would mean major issues would be decided in two meetings with two votes by the selectmen.

He said he is very appreciative of all the people who came out to support him in the election.

Also elected to the Board of Selectmen was incumbent Elmer L. Savage, who received 308 votes. William Packard received 83 write-in votes for the seat.

Gail Hawes was returned to the school board with 300 votes over challenger Norman Theberge, who received 107 votes.

Erik Amundsen was successful in his write-in campaign for a separate seat on the school board. He received 54 write-in votes. Theberge received 40 write-ins for the same seat.

Linda McAllister was elected for another one-year term as town treasurer with 410 votes.