Voters chose to replace incumbent Road Commissioner David Gould and elected Curtis Starrett to the position by a vote of 91 to 163 when they went to the polls June 14. A total of 256 voters, 27.6 percent of Appleton’s 928 registered voters, cast ballots in the municipal election.

Selectman Scott Wiley was re-elected to a three-year term on the board. He received 184 votes. Fred Brown received 6 write-in votes.

Robert Hall Jr. was the only person to take out nomination papers for five seats on the planning board and received 191 votes for that one-year seat. Jacob Boyingon received 1 write-in vote for that position.

No candidates filed papers for two three-year terms, held by David Kelley and Tim Fowler, and two one-year associate board member seats, held by Ronald Gibson and Randall Parr. The following candidates received write-in votes for the planning board:

Fred Brown was elected to a one-year seat as an associate member, receiving 3 votes to 2 for Jason Gushee.

David Kelly was elected to a three-year seat with 12 votes. Timothy Fowler received 9 votes for that seat.

In school board elections, Katherine Richman was elected to a two-year seat, with 192 votes. Tammy Rector received 1 write-in vote.

Deborah Keiran was unopposed in her run for a three-year seat on the school board and received 213 votes.

Voters approved the Appleton Village School budget by a vote of 170 to 85, and the Five Town Community School District budget by a vote of 181 to 67.

When citizens meet in annual town meeting Wednesday, June 15 at 7 p.m. at the Appleton Village School, they will decide whether to enact a wind energy facility ordinance. Voters will also be asked whether to spend money on an engineering study to replace a bridge on Fishtown Road.

The municipal budget, proposed to decrease about $20,360 from the current budget for a total of $681,882, will also appear on the town meeting warrant.

The Herald Gazette Reporter Shlomit Auciello can be reached at 207-236-8511 or by -mail at