From an athletic standpoint, the Midcoast is well represented as the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference Class B division has released all-conference selections for a handful of spring sports.

Athletes from Medomak Valley, Camden Hills, Rockland, Mount View of Thorndike and Belfast are among those honored by the league in baseball, softball, tennis and lacrosse, while outdoor track-and-field league honorees have yet to be finalized.

This year also features three coaches from three different schools in three different sports each earning coach-of-the-year honors. Rockland’s Joe Nelsen took top honors for baseball, Medomak Valley’s Richard Vannah for softball and Camden Hills’ Chris Walker-Spencer for boys tennis.

Nelsen is in his second year coaching the Tigers and led Rockland to the postseason with a record of 10-6, while the Tigers lost to Old Town in the preliminary round of the Eastern Class B playoffs.

Vannah also is a second-year head coach with Medomak Valley after assisting former coach Glenn Barbour for several seasons. Vannah led the Panthers to a 15-1 record, the top seed in Eastern Class B and the KVAC Class B championship before the Panthers fell to upstart and eighth-seeded Caribou 1-0 in the regional quarterfinals.

Walker-Spencer is in his second stint coaching the Camden Hills boys tennis squad after bringing the school a state title in 2005. The Windjammers went undefeated this season, participated in the KVAC Class B title match before splitting two regional playoff matches, including falling to No. 3 Presque Isle in the Eastern Class B semifinals.

The Midcoast student-athletes who were named KVAC Class B all-conference and/or all-academic (seniors with a 90-or-higher grade-point average during their high school careers) were:

Baseball — Class B first-team all-conference: Rockland’s Luke Morrill and Joe Nelsen; and Camden Hills’ Adam Landwehr. Class B second-team all-conference: Belfast’s Lew Dyer and Camden Hills’ Isaac Grindle. Class B all-academic: Belfast’s Jake O’Jala; Camden Hills’ Grindle, Landwehr and Keegan Pieri; Medomak Valley’s Chris Benedict and Isaac Durkee; and Mount View’s Alex Davis. Coach of year: Rockland’s Nelsen.

Softball — Class B first-team all-conference: Belfast’s Vicki Overlock; Camden Hills’ Hayley Buckheit and Olivia Hamalainen; and Medomak Valley’s Kasey Benner and Ericka Christensen. Class B second-team all-conference: Camden Hills’ Heather Eaton and Medomak Valley’s Vanessa Davis and Lindsay Ranquist. Class B all-academic: Belfast’s Ashland Hall, Kristina Kelley, Overlock and Hayley Rae; Camden Hills’ Mia Bergmann, Buckheit, Morgan Farley and Hamalainen; Medomak Valley’s Benner; and Mount View’s Amanda Hall, Vicki Lufkin, Brianna Moody and Channing Murphy. Coach of year: Medomak Valley’s Vannah.

Girls tennis — Class B first-team all-conference: Camden Hills’ Carissa English. Class B second-team all-conference: Belfast’s Shashanna Moll. Class B all-academic: Camden Hills’ Erika Alex, Vanessa Bemis, Kayla Hart and Sophie Salas; Medomak Valley’s Kelly Leidenroth, Kaye Peabody and Haley Turner; and Rockland’s Catherine Grotton, Sarah Henry, Chelsea Hawksley and Natasha Seavey.

Boys tennis — Class B first-team all-conference: Camden Hills’ John Vannorsdall. Second-team all-conference: Camden Hills’ Isaac Hirschfeld, Devon Gordon, Tyler Coleman, Henry Owen and Sam Predham. Class B all-academic: Belfast’s Nathan Howard and Patric Skigen; Camden Hills’ Coleman; and Medomak Valley’s Nick Young. Coach of year: Camden Hills’ Walker-Spencer.

Girls lacrosse — Class B all-academic: Camden Hills’ Madeline Buckley, Marnie Merrill, Rebecca Stoutamyer and Taylor Williams.

Boys lacrosse — Class B second-team all-conference: Camden Hills’ Max Mercier, Derek Dreschler and Taylor Harrison. Class B all-academic: Camden Hills’ Jacob Halberg and Henry Haselton.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at