The state Senate refused to go along with the House on a bill that would combine the House and Senate into one chamber.

The senate voted 29-4 on June 3 to reject the recommendation of the Legislature’s State and Local Government Committee to approve LD 804.

LD 804 would replace the current system of a House with 151 members and a Senate with 35 members with a 151-member body referred to as senators.

The House voted 78-66 for the bill on May 31. With the rejection of the bill by the Senate, the House will take another vote on whether to change its vote or to reaffirm its opposition, which would kill the legislation.

On the June 3 vote, all three Midcoast state senators — Republican Sens. Christopher Rector of Thomaston, A. David Trahan of Waldoboro, and Michael Thibodeau of Winterport — voted against LD 804.

On the May 31 House vote, supporting the single chamber were Reps. Edward Mazurek, D-Rockland; Chuck Kruger, D-Thomaston; Joan Welsh, D-Rockport; Andrew O’Brien, D-Lincolnville; Elsie Flemings, D-Bar Harbor; and Deborah Sanderson, R-Chelsea.

Voting against the consolidation bill were Reps. Wes Richardson, R-Warren; Dana Dow, R-Waldoboro; Walter Kumiega III of Deer Isle; and Jonathan McKane, R-Newcastle.

If the bill had passed, it would still have needed to go to referendum and be approved by voters to amend the state Constitution.