The Island Institute recently awarded $98,300 to 75 students from Maine’s unbridged island communities. At a luncheon held at Point Lookout in Northport on May 21, island scholars, their families, members of several year-round island communities and special guests celebrated the 21st year of the Maine Island Scholarship program.

Since 1990, more than 725 awards totaling more than $850,000 have helped island students attain their higher-education goals. This year’s awards, ranging from $500 to $5,000, assisted students who will attend colleges, universities and other institutions around the country and in Canada. Many of these awards are renewable each year provided that the students remain in school on a full-time basis and submit a scholarship application.

The Maine Island Scholarship awards are made possible by the Shaw Fund for Mariners’ Children, the ERQ Educational Foundation, the Otter Island Fund, the Peter R. and Cynthia K. Kellogg Foundation, the Wilson Family Foundation, the Seth Jordan Memorial Fund, the Barbara and Cyrus Sweet scholarship endowment, and the generosity of many other donors.

Several island students received special awards:

Shawn Chilles of Vinalhaven received the Academic and Community Leadership Scholarship, given to a graduating senior who exemplifies a combination of academic excellence and community leadership.

Arianna Stefanilo of Chebeague Island and John Morton of Vinalhaven each received a Sweet Scholarship, awarded to a graduating senior or upperclassman who has excellent academic standing.

Emily Thomas of Islesboro received the Cynthia and Peter Kellogg Scholarship, recognizing academic excellence and an interest in the fields of business and finance.

Nathaniel Walden of Peaks Island received the 21st Century Scholarship, awarded to a college upperclassman focusing on a science, technology, engineering, and/or math career.

Keith Drury of Vinalhaven received an Otter Island Scholarship, awarded to students of good academic standing attending specific colleges around the country. Keith is attending Colorado College.

Danielle Rich of Chebeague and Gretchen Blank of Islesford each received a special scholarship from the Shaw Fund for Mariners’ Children.

Caroline Summa of Chebeague received the Seth Jordan Memorial Fund Scholarship which is awarded to a graduating senior of extremely high academic standing in Casco Bay.

For additional information about the Island Institute’s Maine Island Scholarship Program, visit or contact Ruth Kermish-Allen, Education Outreach Officer, at 594-9209 x117 or