St. George Elementary School, Searsport District Middle School, Woolwich Central School and Wiscasset Middle School are winners of the Busline League’s 2010-2011 middle school athletics sportsmanship awards, it was revealed Monday.

St. George, Searsport and Woolwich will share the award in the Small School Division, while Wiscasset was named the recipient in the Large School Division. Woolwich also shared the Small School Award with Hope Elementary School in 2009-2010.

The Busline League sportsmanship awards are given annually to the schools that demonstrate high levels of respect for opponents, coaches, officials and facilities when hosting or traveling to competitions, stated a press release by Jim Leonard, Regional School Unit 13 athletic director. Award winners also model appropriate behavior before, during and after competitions.

The Busline League is comprised of 21 schools in a large geographical area from Woolwich to Searsport. The league is run by athletic administrators from its member schools.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at