The Speaker of the House and President of the Senate announced Dec. 20 the committee members of the Joint Select Committee on Regulatory Fairness and Reform. Sen. Jonathan Courtney, R-York, of Sanford, and Rep. Jonathan McKane, R-Newcastle, will serve as the co-chairs of the committee.

The other committee members are: Sen. Justin Alfond, D-Portland; Rep. Michael Cary, D-Lewiston; Rep. Dana Dow, R-Waldoboro; Rep. Robert Duchesne, D-Hudson; Rep. Stacey Fitts, R-Pittsfield; Sen. Seth Goodall, D-Richmond; Rep. Michael McClellan, R-Raymond; Rep. James Parker, R-Veazie; Sen. Christopher Rector, R-Thomaston; Sen. Thomas Saviello, R-Wilton; Rep. Dianne Tilton, R-Harrington; Rep. Sharon Treat, D-Hallowell; and Rep. Linda Valentino, D-Saco.

The committee has been constituted by the Legislature to work on LD 1 “An Act to Ensure Regulatory Fairness and Reform.” The committee will be working along with Governor-elect Paul LePage to draft legislation and bring their proposals before the Legislature.

“I’m very pleased with the team of legislators we have assembled for the Regulatory Reform Committee,” said Senate President Kevin Raye. “There is a lot of challenging work ahead for the committee. I have full faith that legislators from both sides of the aisle will work together in a bipartisan fashion to reduce Maine’s burdensome regulatory climate.”

“I am looking forward to reviewing the committee’s recommendations,” said House Speaker Robert Nutting. “This work is important to the people of Maine. While some regulations serve a good and decent purpose, others block job growth and contribute to economic decline. This committee will work to determine where we need to make changes.”