On Nov. 21, more than 80 people attended a book-signing party to celebrate the publication of Katherine Silva’s first book, “Vox,” a supernatural horror novel, self-published through the Maine Authors Publishing Cooperative in Rockland.

Silva, 22, is a native of Union. Her debut novel, a two-year endeavor, is a 284-page work of fiction in the vein of Anne Rice and Dan Brown. It involves humans, monsters and other beings whose many conflicts, amidst a fast-paced plot, provide a page-turning read. It is the first book in her series titled The Monstrum Chronicles; Silva currently is writing the second book of the series. Her website is monstrumchronicles.com.

“Vox” can be purchased at all locations of Sherman’s Books; Longfellow Books in Portland; and through the Maine Authors Publishing website at maineauthorspublishing.com.

VillageSoup Art/Entertainment Editor Dagney Ernest can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail to dernest@villagesoup.com.