The Rockland High School class of 1945 held a special 65th class reunion on July 23 at the Samoset Resort in Rockport. The class has been having a reunion yearly since the 50th reunion in 1995.

Dale Lindsey, class president, thanked everyone for coming. He asked all to introduce themselves and their guests with the microphone that was passed around from table to table.

After lunch Betty Hempstead Dexter was introduced and with the help of Doug Curtis they read the names of deceased classmates. The reading was followed by a moment of silence. Classmates then sang the school song and Betty read the class ode.

Florence Knight Hammond was introduced. She brought greetings from classmates who were unable to attend. They wanted to be remembered and sent their greetings to all.

In further business, a collection was taken to defray expenses. A memorabilia table was set up for all to enjoy.

Thinking-of-you cards were signed by all and sent to Celia Herrick Pooler of Bristol, Harold Wiggin of Thomaston and Ted Allard of Largo, Fla.

As a surprise, Ruth Call Farrell was the recipient of an orchid corsage. It was given for years of faithful service by all of her classmates.

Members of the class of 1945 in attendance included Barbara Allen Pruitt of Rockport, Everett Baum of Spruce Head, Lois Benner Gatcombe of Cumberland Center, Lawrence and Aimee Karl Blood of Union and Spring Hill, Fla., Ruth Call Farrell of Rockland, Mary Callahan Rose of East Hampton, Conn., Sylvia Christoffersen Hawkins of Rockland and Orange Beach, Ala., Douglas Curtis of Rockland, Eleanor Curtis Nash of South Thomaston, Dorothy Drinkwater Blake of Scarborough, Cora Guptill Bergren of Owls Head, Sandra Hallowell Stratton and Vittrice Hayes Haskell, both of Rockland, Betty Hempstead Dexter of Auburn, Lorraine Iott Gleason of Union, Florence Knight Hammond of Largo, Fla., and Owls Head, Dale Lindsey of Scarborough, Evelyn Nuppula Kalloch of Thomaston, Ruth Payson Mortimer of Buxton, Lewville Pottle of Warren, Maxine Skinner Gahm of Bremen, and Charlotte Weymouth Johnson and Ervin Wooster, both of Rockland.

Guests present were Arlene Baum, Robert Gatcombe, Connie Farrell Welt, Don Hawkins, Ollie Cline Elliot, Kelly Nash Taylor, David W. Foss, Bruce Stratton, Roseanna Gleason Curry, Jeri Johnson, Jean Young Lindsey, Kathy Mortimer Armstrong, Ellen Mortimer Morun, Jill Pottle, Gail Wooster and Ann O. Keefe.

The reunion committee will soon begin making plans for the 66th reunion in 2011.