The Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame will enshrine five new members during the fourth annual induction ceremony and banquet Saturday, Oct. 16 at the Rockland Elks Lodge on Rankin Street.

The 2010 inductees include Jeff Hart, Carroll LaHaye, Bob Brown, Dean Erickson and the late Bob Morrill.

Morrill taught and coached at Rockland District High School for 39 years, leading the Tiger baseball squad to the 1989 state Class B championship, the only one in the school’s history. Morrill also coached varsity football and varsity and jayvee basketball during his career at RDHS. Morrill attended high school in Farmington, where he lettered in football, basketball, baseball, track and skiing, and then attended Farmington Teachers’ College, where he played baseball. The baseball field on Thomaston Street in Rockland is named after Morrill, who died in 1997.

Hart has led the Windjammers boys basketball program since 1983 and is closing in on his 400th career victory. Hart has led Camden-Rockport and Camden Hills to 397 wins and coached in 23 Eastern Class B tournaments, capturing eight regional crowns and five state Class B championships (1999, 2001, 2002, 2005 and 2009), including going undefeated twice. Hart’s teams have also won 11 Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference Class B championships and he has been named coach of the year twice in his career. Hart attended Mount Blue High School in Farmington and played basketball for longtime coach Jim Bessey and attended the University of Maine. Hart, who is also the varsity baseball coach at Camden Hills, was named to the New England Basketball Hall of Fame in 2009.

LaHaye, a 1973 graduate of Medomak Valley High School, made her mark in college basketball. LaHaye attended the University of Maine in Machias, where the school retired her basketball number. In 1982, LaHaye was named the women’s basketball coach at Randolph-Macon in Ashland, Va., where she has won 471 games during her 28 seasons, which currently ranks 15th all-time in the history of NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball. LaHaye’s Yellow Jackets have had 18 straight winning seasons, have won seven Old Dominion Athletic Conference regular-season championships, six ODAC Tournament championships and have gone to eight National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Tournaments. LaHaye has taken Randolph-Macon to the Sweet 16 four times, to the Elite Eight twice and her 2005 squad lost the national championship game.

Brown is one of the most respected basketball coaches in Maine, winning 583 games over 40 high school and collegiate seasons, including coaching basketball at Rockland District High School 1968 through 1974, during which time he led four Tiger teams to the Eastern Class A tournament. Brown also served as RDHS athletic director and golf coach. Brown also coached at Belgrade, Williams (Oakland), South Portland, Edward Little of Auburn, Bonny Eagle of Standish and Cheverus of Portland high schools, leading 28 teams to the high school tournament, winning six Western Maine championship and four gold balls (1979 and 1980 at South Portland; 2008 and 2010 at Cheverus). Brown also won 142 college games at St. Anselm, the University of Southern Maine and Boston University.

Erickson was a standout point guard for Art Dyer’s Medomak Valley High School basketball teams in the mid-1970s and he helped lead the Panthers to the 1975 and 1977 state Class B championship games, winning the gold ball in 1977. Erickson scored 594 points and handed out 375 assists during his career at Medomak Valley, with the Panthers going 65-7 during that time. Erickson was named to the Bangor Daily News‘ First-Team All-State Basketball Team in 1977. Erickson continued his basketball career at Brown University, playing three seasons for the Ivy League school. During the 1981 season, Erickson had six steals in a game against Dartmouth, which still ranks third all-time for a game in Brown history.

The hall also will name its male and female Midcoast high school student-athletes of the year for 2010 during the banquet.

Tickets for the Oct. 16 banquet are $25 each and are available by calling various committee members: Dave Ames at 789-5118, Sue Wootton at 236-4155, Neil Lash at 832-4211, Lou Cook at 785-4782 or Ashley Hunt at 594-7202.

More details can be found at the Midcoast Hall of Fame website at or by e-mailing

Dinner will begin at 6 p.m., with the induction ceremony to follow at 7 p.m.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail at