Many Maine state government offices will be closed Friday, Aug. 6 as a cost saving initiative for the fiscal year 2010-2011 biennial state budget.

“Please plan ahead for any services you may need from state agencies during this and the other state government shutdown days,” said Gov. John Baldacci in a news release. “When scheduling the days, every effort has been made to reduce the impact to Maine people, businesses and communities.”

The public is encouraged to check with a specific agency before seeking state services on Friday, Aug 6.

This is the second of 10 state government closure days in fiscal year 2011, which began July 1, 2010.

The eight remaining closure days are Friday, Sept. 3; Friday, Oct. 8; Thursday, Dec. 23; Friday, Jan. 14; Tuesday, Feb. 22; Friday, March 18; Tuesday, April 19; and Friday, May 27.