One hundred of Maine’s most distinguished artists were invited to donate work for the Center for Maine Contemporary Art’s 33rd annual benefit auction and dinner. This annual event is the foremost summer auction of current art in Maine and it will be held Sunday, Aug. 1 at the Owls Head Transportation Museum.

The auction’s work will be on display at CMCA, 162 Russell Ave., beginning Wednesday, July 21, in the Auction Preview Exhibition. There will be an opening reception Wednesday from 5 to 7 p.m.; the reception and Preview Exhibition, which runs through July 31, are free and open to the public. Artworks also will be available for viewing online at

Tickets to the benefit auction and dinner are $125 and can be ordered by calling CMCA at 236-2875. Absentee bids are encouraged for those who cannot be present at the auction. The annual Benefit Auction & Dinner is CMCA’s largest fundraiser and provides significant support for the organization’s operations. Artists have the choice of donating either a portion or all of the proceeds to CMCA. This year, an unprecedented third of the artists donated their work outright.

“CMCA is honored and thankful to all the artists, who have been especially supportive this year,” said CMCA board president, Judith Daniels.

Kaja Veilleux of Thomaston Place Auction Galleries will preside as auctioneer, and Swan’s Way will cater the dinner.

Art this year includes work by painters Janice Anthony, Mary Aro, Philip Barter, Dozier Bell, Ed Botkin, Mary Bourke, Louise Bourne, Katherine Bradford, Meghan Brady, Sam Cady, Sara Crisp, Scott Davis, Joshua Ferry, Kathleen Florance, Linden Frederick, Philip Frey, Harold Garde, Marvin “Red” Garner, Connie Hayes, Eric Hopkins, Jill Hoy, Barbara Kassel, Jeffrey Kellar, Frederic Kellogg, Monica Kelly, John Knight, Holly Meade, John Moore, James Mullen, Jennifer Mumford, Antonia Munroe, Joseph Nicoletti, Christopher Osgood, Colin Page, Dennis Pinette, Amy Pollien, Shannon Rankin, Holly Ready, Alison Rector, Paul Rickert, Mimo Gordon Riley, Björn Runquist, Kenneth Sahr, Roderick Slater, Carol Sloane, Allison Smith, Barbara Sullivan, Andrea Sulzer, Susan Headley Van Campen, David Vickery, Don Voisine, Mark Wethli, Susan Williams, Deborah Winship, Denny Winters, Nancy Wisseman-Widrig and Sharon Yates; prints and other works on paper by Will Barnet, Lois Dodd, Tony Fitzpatrick, Ellen Golden, Rebecca Goodale, Ken Greenleaf, Anna Hepler, Charlie Hewitt, Alison Hildreth, Robert Indiana, Yvonne Jacquette, Cassie Jones, Anne Kilham, James Marshall, Justin Richel, Stell Shevis, William Shevis, Jessica Stammen and Dudley Zopp; photography by Jeremy Barnard, Jed Devine, Jon Edwards, Maggie Foskett, John Goodman, Michael Kolster, Jocelyn Lee, Thomas Peter Michelena, James A. Mitchell, Peter Ralston, Liv Kristen Robinson, Jan Rosenbaum and Joyce Tenneson; crafts by Ron Leax, George Pearlman, Harvey Peterson, Randy Regier and Simon van der Ven; and sculpture by John Bisbee, Duane Paluska, Nina Scott-Hansen and Mike Stiler.

The Center for Maine Contemporary Art is a nonprofit organization advancing contemporary art in Maine through exhibitions and educational programs. Hours are Tuesdays through Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sundays from 1 to 5 p.m. Admission to the galleries is free.

VillageSoup Art/Entertainment Editor Dagney Ernest can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail to