The Busline League announced Monday that Hope Elementary School, Woolwich Central School and Medomak Middle School were winners of the league’s 2009-2010 sportsmanship awards.

Hope and Woolwich will share the award in the Small School Division, while Medomak was named the recipient in the Large School Division.

The Busline League sportsmanship award is awarded annually to the schools that demonstrate high levels of respect for opponents, coaches, officials and facilities when hosting or traveling to competitions, said Jim Leonard, athletic director at Rockland District High School and Rockland District Middle School. Award winners also model appropriate behavior before, during and after competitions, he said.

The Busline League is comprised of 18 schools from Woolwich to Searsport. The league is run by athletic administrators from its member schools.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail at