University of Southern Maine

PORTLAND — The following students were named to the dean’s list at the University of Southern Maine for the fall 2009 semester: Sara Downie and Katherine Holm of Camden; Virginia Alley of Cushing; Daniel Barrett of Friendship; Gabrielle Bennett of Rockland; Nelda McClellan, Kevin Ruger and Danielle Sylvester of Rockport; Kristi Braun of Warren; and Jonathan Seaver of Waldoboro.

Guy P. Gannett Journalism Scholarship Fund

ELLSWORTH — The Guy P. Gannett Journalism Scholarship Fund, established in 2000 by the trustees of the Gannett Foundation through the Maine Community Foundation, seeks applications.

The Gannett Journalism Scholarship Fund provides renewable support for students majoring in journalism or a field reasonably related, including print, broadcast or electronic media. The fund helps pay tuition to attend an undergraduate, graduate, trade or technical school. Applicants must be graduates of Maine high schools or have been home-schooled in Maine. Students will be chosen based on demonstrated interest in journalism, financial need and academic achievement. The deadline for applications is May 1. For complete guidelines and an application form, visit

Trinity College

HARTFORD, Conn. — The following students at Trinity College received faculty honors for the fall 2009 semester. To earn faculty honors, a student must achieve a semester grade point average of at least 3.667 with no individual letter grade below B-. Whitney W. Weiler of Camden, class of 2010, and Annalise O. Welte of Camden, class of 2012, earned faculty honors. Founded in 1823, Trinity College is one of the oldest and highest ranked liberal arts colleges in the nation, with more than 2,200 full-time undergraduate students from 42 states and 41 foreign countries.

Headley Scholarship Fund

ELLSWORTH — Vinalhaven residents who are pursuing post-secondary education at a college, university, community college or vocational school, and have resided on the island for at least three years, are encouraged to apply for scholarship support from the Maine Community Foundation’s Joseph and Dorothy Headley Scholarship Fund. Applications are due by May 13. For guidelines and an application form, visit

The Headley Scholarship Fund provides financial assistance for students who have demonstrated good character and good citizenship, financial need, and ambition. Any resident of Vinalhaven who is 35 years old or younger is eligible to apply. Contact the Vinalhaven Town Office or Maine Community Foundation for more information.

Hebron Academy

HEBRON — Hebron Academy Head of School John King recently recognized the academy’s upper school students who attained honors for the winter trimester. Allyson Strachan of Vinalhaven earned highest honors (A- or higher).

Maine Innkeepers Education Foundation scholarships

The Maine Innkeepers Education Foundation, affiliated with the Maine Innkeepers Association, is accepting applications for its 26th annual scholarship program. The Maine Innkeepers Education Foundation scholarship program was designed to offer partial support and encourage Maine students pursuing careers in culinary sciences or hospitality.

“Tourism continues to provide Maine residents with a range of good job and career opportunities,” said MEIA Executive Director Greg Dugal, in a news release. “As the leading industry and employer in the state it is vital that we support the development of skill sets necessary to support tourism. We are pleased to offer scholarships each year to local students pursuing careers in hospitality.”

Applications must be received before April 9, and will be reviewed by a selection committee. Any Maine resident who has been accepted to a fully accredited school with specialties in hotel administration or culinary sciences and is pursuing a career in hospitality is encouraged to apply for a scholarship award ranging from $500 to $2,000. Awards will be made based on scholarship merit, employment history, financial need, extra curricular activities and desire to work in hospitality. For more information, call 865-6100 or e-mail