The Portland Press Herald Maine State Spelling Bee will be held Saturday, March 20 at 2 p.m. at the University of Southern Maine’s Hannaford Hall in Portland. The state champion will earn a spot in the 2010 Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C.

Matthew Clark will represent Knox County. Hunter Marie Herron will represent Lincoln County. Emmanuel Gallucci will represent Waldo County.

The other spellers are Rayna Fa-Xin Knight of Androscoggin County, Joshua Stover of Aroostook County, Lily Jordan of Cumberland County, Hanna L. Deon of Franklin County, Christopher Grindle of Hancock County, Olivia Ruhlin of Oxford County, Lily Koffman of Penobscot County, William Wescott of Somerset County, Meg Moulton of Washington County, and Noah Farrington of York County.

Jeannine Uzzi, associate professor of classical studies at USM, will be the pronouncer of the bee. Judges will be Michael Ashmore, director of the Maine Transition Network, Karen Baldacci, Maine’s first lady, and Shirley Helfrich, a retired library consultant for the Maine State Library. Admission to the spelling bee is free.