Twenty-seven Cub Scouts from Pack 206, chartered to the Rockland Congregational Church, converged on the Rockland District Middle School gym Feb. 27 for the annual Pinewood Derby race.

Scouts raced four at a time on an inclined track to determine the fastest racers in the Pack. The top five racers advanced to the Downeast District Pinewood Derby race in April, where they will compete with the five fastest cars from other Cub Scout Packs from Brunswick to Lincolnville. Trophies were awarded to the six fastest cars in the Pack, as follows: Isak Potter, first place; Ian Walsh, second place; Josh Peaco, third place; Kirt Ilvonen, fourth place; Trevor Carty, fifth place; and Karl Ilvonen, sixth place.

Cub Scout Pack 206 thanked Sgt. Tony Camporiale of the Rockland Police Department, who volunteered his time again this year to serve as judge of the various awards presented to Scouts for the designs of their cars. Based on Camporiale’s choices, trophies were presented to Scouts for the following: Best Cub Scout Theme – Josh Morehouse; Most Patriotic – Nathanial Barnard; Rock Coast Sports Award – John Comeau; Best Paint Job – Eric Glaser; Most Sports Like – Zach Healey; Most Unique – Jordan Kennedy; Best Scout Design – Tom McClellan; Judge’s Award – Bradley Nystrom; Most Like NASCAR – Jason Tyler; and Best of Show – Will Eaton.

All 27 Scouts received a Pinewood Derby patch for their uniform, and an “I Did My Best” ribbon. Other Scouts participating in the race included Jacob Cormier, Marshall Mills, Connor McGonagle, Landon Willis, Patrick Corcoran, Jeret Winchenbach, Jaden Martin, Edwin Stone, Jack Freeman, Tyler Bickford and Logan Putansu.

Tom Peaco contributed this story.