Principal Barney Hallowell of the North Haven Community School announced the names of steering committee members who will direct the school’s efforts during its self-study and the accreditation by the Commission on Public Secondary Schools of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges. The committee will be co-chaired by Nan Lee and Christine Cooper. The other members of the committee are Barney Hallowell, John Dietter, Louis Carrier and Haven Stone.

NEASC membership requires that a school undergo a self-study and formal evaluation at least once every 10 years. The steering committee’s responsibilities will include coordinating a schedule of events for the school’s self-study, collecting reports from various subcommittees, and making necessary preparations for the evaluation committee’s visit in the fall of 2011.

“The self-study will include the completion of a comprehensive assessment of teaching and learning and the support of teaching and learning,” Lee said in a news release. “The focus of the evaluation visit in 2011 will be to determine the extent to which our programs and services carry out the school’s core values and beliefs about student learning for students and meet the commission’s standards for accreditation.”

The steering committee invites parents of school children and other interested community residents to assist in the self-study process. There will be seven sub-committees working throughout the self-study. These committees will evaluate the areas of core values, beliefs and learning expectations, curriculum, instruction, assessment of and for student learning, school culture and leadership, school resources for learning and community resources for learning. Any community resident who is interested in volunteering time or in learning more about the self-study should contact Lee or Cooper, who are coordinating the evaluation process at the school.

North Haven Community School was first accredited almost 10 years ago. NEASC is a voluntary membership organization of more than 2,000 public schools, colleges and universities, independent schools, and vocational, technical and career institutions. The commission works with individual institutions to improve the quality of education at all levels through a continuous process of evaluation and accreditation.