Fifty-three Camden Hills Regional High School music students recently participated in the District III honors band and chorus festival. District III High School Honors Festival, which is a division of the Maine Music Educator’s Association, encompasses nearly 30 schools from the Midcoast and mid-Maine area. Students who participated in the festival were selected from the results of an audition held last October.

This year, the District III High School Honors Festival was hosted by Brunswick High School and Mt. Ararat Middle School, home of the Orion Center for Performing Arts. Jeffrey Priest, band director at Old Town High School, directed the Honors Band. Matthew Murray, currently the choral director at Gorham High School, directed the Treble Choir. The Mixed Choir was directed by Robert Russell, professor of music and choral director at the University of Southern Maine.

The following students from Camden Hills were selected for this year’s festival. Chosen for the Honors Band were flutists Eryn Thostenson, Pamela Karr and Sarah Palermo; clarinetists Elizabeth Belair, Evan Bianchi, Erin Pierce and Katharine Johanson; oboist Sam McKenna; trombonist Carrick Gamble; and percussionists Sam Predham and Amber Karr.

Chosen for the Mixed Choir were sopranos Anna Rich, Maddie Chilton, Anna Grigo and Megan Peabody; altos Hillary Morrison, Angelica Pendleton, Stephanie Leclerc, Shayna Cohen, Madeline Buckley, Mary Caitlin Parks, Emily Sargent and Jenna Hill; tenors Ian Doran, Nick Murphy, Cade Patten, Riley Duggan and Morgan Cates; and basses Alistair Phaup, Sean Fay, Andrew Schlebecker, Evan Donoso and Alex Wilder.

Chosen for the Treble Choir are sopranos Alana Breheny, Mariah Jones, Victoria Bryant, Paige Courtney, Jessica Uges, Emma Theobalds, Margaret Keefe and Katharine Marki; altos Aurora Stromberg, Caitlin Throne, Jalina Brown, Tessa Carroll, Morgan Viehman, Lizzie Emmett, Alice Limoges, Rebecca Gray, Lizzie Cox, Jennifer Karod and Chelsea Daggett.

VillageSoup Art/Entertainment Editor Dagney Ernest can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail to