For the second straight day, fans of high level middle school basketball were in for a treat Friday night at Camden-Rockport Middle School as the Busline League Large School Division boys championships were decided in two title clashes featuring the league’s top teams.

And for the second straight day, an eighth-grade team from Camden-Rockport Middle School and a seventh-grade squad from Boothbay Region Middle School clinched their respective league crowns.

Albeit not in the nailbiters that the two Busline League girls championship contests turned out to be Thursday night, the eighth-grade Schooners and seventh-grade Wildcats proved to be the cream of the Busline League boys hoop crop in a pair of convincing victories Friday for both teams.

In the eighth-grade contest, top-seeded and previously undefeated Rockland District Middle School (11-1) lost its first game of the season as No. 2 Camden-Rockport Middle School (10-2) held the Eagles at bay throughout the contest and clinched the championship with a 61-43 victory.

In the seventh-grade game, top-seeded and undefeated Boothbay (11-0) showed that it indeed was the best team in the league this year, winning the title in convincing fashion over No. 3 Camden-Rockport Middle School 54-25.

The games had been postponed from Wednesday due to inclement weather.

Eighth-grade game

The Schooners doubled up the Eagles 12-6 in the first eight minutes and extended their lead to 23-8 at halftime. CRMS then pulled away in the third quarter and took a 43-22 advantage after three quarters.

Chandler Crans poured in 20 points to lead the newly-crowned league champs, while Jayson Kurn added 12; Colin Morse, eight; Duncan Hall, five; Joey Chamberlain and Connor Graffam, both four; Terron Bailey, three; and Merrill Hall and Peter Vannorsdal, both two.

David Gould keyed the Eagles with 10 points, while Hunter Grindle added nine; Isaiah Patterson and James Nguyen, both six; Bronson Philbrook, five; Gunnar Cummings, J.T. Tobin and Tyler Conant, all two; and Jeb Fontaine, one.

The Schooners were 12-of-23 (52 percent) from the free-throw line, while the Eagles were 8-of-22 (36 percent).

The game still looked to be within RDMS’ grasp late in the third quarter, until Kuhn knocked down his second 3-pointer of the quarter — an off-balance buzzer-beater from the top of the key — to end the stanza. The Schooners, whose only two losses all season were to the Eagles, held RDMS at bay over the final eight minutes to clinch the league title.

The Busline League champion Schooners consist of Terron Bailey, Joe Chamberlain, Chandler Crans, Connor Graffam, Duncan Hall, John Hall, Merrill Hall, Jayson Kuhn, Colin Morse, David Richards, Joseph Simmons, Marshall Spear, Peter Vannorsdall and Hayden Vogt. Camden-Rockport is coached by Terry Fitzpatrick.

The Busline League runners-up from RDMS are made up of Jacob Brackett, McCabe Purch, Cody Chase, Cole Chase, Tyler Conant, Gunnar Cummings, Anthony Daybach, Zac Dean, Reilly Flanagan, Jeb Fontaine, David Gould, Hunter Grindle, Trenton Jarrett, James Nguyen, Bronson Philbrick, Isaiah Patterson and J.T. Tobin. The Eagles are coached by Karl Meklin, and assisted by Bert Philbrick.

Click for more photos of the Rockland and Camden-Rockport eighth-grade championship game.

Seventh-grade game

Boothbay jumped to a 12-8 lead after the first quarter and maintained that lead through halftime, taking a 22-12 advantage at the end of the game’s first 16 minutes. Boothbay then went on a 15-5 third-quarter run, pushing its advantage to 37-17 after three quarters.

Daulton Wickenden led the Schooners with an eight-point effort, while Andrew Hall chipped in six; Drew Holt, four; Drew Long and Justin Lopez, both two; and Matt Crockett, one.

Jon Hepburn paced the newly-crowned league champs with 24 points, while Joseph DiMauro kicked in 14; Evan Hepburn, six; Aaron Dickinson and Zack Vise, both three; and Nick Kilgus, two.

Boothbay shot 3-of-9 (33 percent) from the free-throw line, while Camden-Rockport converted 1-of-2 (50 percent)

The Busline League champion Wildcats are made up of Andrew Blackman, Aaron Dickinson, Joseph DiMauro, Evan Hepburn, John Hepburn, Nick Kilgus, Trystan Mercier, Collin Thompson and Zach Vise. Boothbay is coached by Ken Maxim.

The Busline League runners-up from Camden-Rockport include Will Barrows, Oliver Bianchi, Eric Blohm, Matt Crockett, Andrew Hall, Drew Holt, Dimitri Kestenbaum, Tyler Leighton, Drew Long, Justin Lopez, Ryan Pierce, Isaiah Powell and Daulton Wickenden. The Schooners are coached by Terry Fitzpatrick.

Click for more photos from the Boothbay and Rockland seventh-grade championship game.

Village NetMedia Associate Sports Director Mark Haskell can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail at