School sports

MVHS, MMS fall athletic tryouts, practices set

By Staff | Aug 04, 2014

Waldoboro — Medomak Valley High School and Medomak Middle School have scheduled fall sports tryouts/practices, announced athletic director Matt Lash.

MVHS and MMS student-athletes must return a completed Sports Participation Approval Form, along with proof of sports physical examination and health insurance before or on the first day.

The form can be downloaded at msad40.org under “Athletics,” then “Forms.” Parents can turn in paperwork at the main offices, fax to the attention of the athletic director at 832-2280, or by handing in on the first date.

Lash said each athlete should come to practice in the appropriate clothing and footwear. Be prepared for hot conditions. Bring plenty of water or sports drinks. Soccer players are required to wear shin and mouth guards.

For more information,call  Lash at 832-5389, ext. 129 or 542-1475, or via email at matt_lash@msad40.org.

The following are the schedules for each school:

Medomak Valley High School

Tryouts begin Monday, Aug. 18. Below are times and coaches contact information for each sport:

Cross country — George Gould at 215-9729 or gmgould@myfairpoint.net. Runners will meet on the track at 6 p.m. Practices will run Monday through Friday, 6 to 7:30 p.m. until school begins.

Golf — Peter Stuart at 542-0668 or peter_stuart@msad40.org. Athletes interested in golf should meet 3:30 to 5:30 p.m. at the Rockland Golf Club. Appropriate attire is required on the course.

Cheering — Heather Simmons at 832-7592 or khisimmons@hotmail.com. Athletes will meet 4 to 5:30 p.m. in front of the gym on Tuesday, Aug. 19.

Girls soccer — Larry Jensen at larry_jensen@msad40.org.Those interested in trying out should meet inside the track at 5:30 p.m. Preseason practices will run 5:30 to 7:15 p.m. Girls should bring cleats and sneakers to each practice.

Boys soccer — Brian Campbell at 215-3111 or brian_campbell@msad40.org. Those interested in trying out should meet on the MMS soccer field at 5:30 p.m. Practices will be 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.

Club football — Ryan Snell at 735-4769 or rsnell3232@hotmail.com. Athletes will meet at 5 p.m. on the front field at MVHS.

Medomak Middle School

Girls soccer — Molly Brewer at 350-2231 or molly_brewer@msad40.org.

Boys soccer — Tenley Libby at 504-4830 or tenley_libby@msad40.org.

Practices for girls and boys soccer begin Tuesday, Aug. 19. Athletes interested in trying out for the teams should meet behind the gymnasium at 2 p.m. Preseason practices will run 2 to 4 p.m.

Cross country — Lorraine Knight at 236-0398 or lorraine_knight@msad40.org. For girls and boys, begins Tuesday, Aug. 26. Athletes will meet in front of the school. Preseason practices the first week are 3 to 4:30 p.m.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.