Illustrated history of Rockland

May 22, 2014
Courtesy of: Rockland Historical Society Rockland Maine Street, 1895.

Union — Union Historical Society will meet at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, June 4, at the Old Town House, Town House Road, just off Union Common. Ann Morris, Curator of Rockland Historical Society, will give an illustrated presentation on the history of Rockland.

Morris sees Rockland, the Knox County seat, as a city that has continually reinvented itself while maintaining a stable population of around 8,000. The city has been home to several really important industries, such as ships, lime, granite, fishing, and ice, and it is now in process of transforming into a cultural center. Her presentation will explore these varied aspects of Rockland's past.

A 2000 Maine immigrant, Morris previously lived in St. Louis, Mo., where she was Director of Archives for the University of St. Louis. She is the author of several books, including an African-American history, a history of Camden, and a history of Rockland's downtown called "A Walk Along Maine Street." Morris has also published "Don't Worry, Mother," a historical memoir based on letters home from an aunt who lived in France in 1938-39, interspersed with contemporary news clippings.

Refreshments will be served after the meeting. All meetings of Union Historical Society are free and open to the public. Union Historical Society owns and maintains the Robbins House on Union Common, the Cobb's Ledge historic site on Town House Road, and the Old Town House, also located on Town House Road and available to rent for functions. Membership is $5 per year. For more information, call 785-5444 and leave a message.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.