Carols in the Round tour

Nov 24, 2010

The Mount View Chamber Singers of Mount View High School in Thorndike begin the annual Carols in the Round holiday concert tour Thanksgiving weekend and will be performing around the area until a few days before Christmas.

Admission to the concerts is free; donations for tour expenses are welcome.

Performances will be Saturday, Nov. 27 at 7 p.m. at Riverside Congregational Church, Vassalboro; Sunday, Nov. 28 at 4 p.m. at Hampden Highlands United Methodist Church, and 7 p.m. at First Baptist Church, Waterville; Monday, Nov. 29 at 7 p.m. at Searsport Congregational Church; Tuesday, Nov. 30 at 7 p.m. at the Church of Universal Fellowship, Orono; Wednesday, Dec. 1 at 7 p.m. at Liberty Baptist Church; Thursday, Dec. 2 at 7 p.m. at the United Methodist Church, Vassalboro; Friday, Dec. 3 at 7 p.m. at St. Anne's Episcopal Church, Calais; Saturday, Dec. 4 at the Franklin Street United Methodist Church, Bucksport; Sunday, Dec. 5 at 4 p.m. at St. Mary's Catholic Church and 7 p.m. at the First United Methodist Church, Bangor; Monday, Dec. 6 at 7 p.m. at Chestnut Street Baptist Church, Camden; Wednesday, Dec. 8 at Sacred Heart Church, Hallowell; Thursday, Dec. 9 at Safe Harbor Church, Searsport; Saturday, Dec. 11 at 4 p.m. Hammond Street Congregational Church, Bangor, and 7 p.m. at Stockton Community Church; Sunday, Dec. 12 at 2 p.m. at the University of Maine at Augusta's Jewett Hall and 4 p.m. at St. Mark's Episcopal Church, Augusta, and 7 p.m. at Kennebec Valley Baptist Church, Waterville; Monday, Dec. 13 at 7 p.m. at Freedom Congregational Church; Wednesday, Dec. 15 at 7 p.m. at St. Denis Catholic Church, Whitefield; Saturday, Dec. 18 at 4 p.m. at John Street United Methodist Church, Camden and 7 p.m. at United Methodist Church, Belfast; Sunday, Dec. 19 at 4 p.m. at Lincolnville United Christian Church, Lincolnville Center, and 7 p.m. at St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church, Belfast; Monday, Dec. 20 at 7 p.m. at Stillwater Federated Church; and finally Wednesday, Dec. 22 at 7 p.m. at Mount View's own Clifford Performing Arts Center.

The tour gets its name from its format. Students in the four voice parts surround the audience on all four sides as they sing a cappella holiday music. The singers, using candles to illuminate their music, slowly shift around the room during the course of a concert.

The Mount View Chamber Singers are directed by David Stevenson and have enjoyed the privilege of traveling and presenting their music to many people and many cultures. Funding for tours is raised in part from the sales from the CDs recorded by the group. Another significant source of income is donations.

VillageSoup Art/Entertainment Editor Dagney Ernest can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail to dernest@villagesoup.com.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.