Carols in the Round hits Midcoast

Dec 02, 2012

The Mount View Chamber Singers of Mount View High School in Thorndike began their annual Carols in the Round holiday concert tour Thanksgiving weekend and will be performing all around the state until a few days before Christmas. Admission to the concerts is free, although donations for tour expenses are welcome.

The tour will make its first Midcoast performances this week. Upcoming performances will be Monday, Dec. 3 at 7 p.m. at Chestnut Street Baptist Church, Camden; Wednesday, Dec. 5 at Sacred Heart Church, Hallowell; Thursday, Dec. 6 at 7 p.m. at First Church UCC, Belfast; Friday, Dec. 7 at 7 p.m. at Liberty Baptist Church; Saturday, Dec. 8 at 4 p.m. at Camden's John Street United Methodist Church and 7 p.m. at Stockton Community Church; Sunday, Dec. 9 at 4 p.m. at Hammond Street Congregational Church, Bangor, and 7 p.m. at Kennebec Valley Baptist Church, Waterville; Monday, Dec. 10 at 7 p.m. at Searsport Congregational Church; Tuesday, Dec. 11 at 7 p.m. at St. Denis Catholic Church, Whitefield; Thursday, Dec. 13 at 7 p.m. at the Church of Universal Fellowship, Orono; Friday, Dec. 14 at 7 p.m. at Freedom Congregational Church; Saturday, Dec. 15 at 7 p.m. at the United Methodist Church, Belfast;  Sunday, Dec. 16 at 4 p.m. at Lincolnville United Christian Church, Lincolnville Center, and 7 p.m. at St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church, Belfast; Wednesday, Dec. 19 at Stillwater Federated Church; and Thursday, Dec. 20 at 7 p.m. at Mount View's own Clifford Performing Arts Center.

The tour gets its name from its unusual format. Students in the four voice parts surround the audience on all four sides as they sing a cappella holiday music. The singers, using candles to illuminate their music, slowly shift around the room during the course of a concert. The Mount View Chamber Singers are directed by David Stevenson and have enjoyed the privilege of traveling and presenting their music to many people and many cultures. Funding for tours is raised in part from the sales from the CDs recorded by the group. Another significant source of income is donations.

Courier Publications’ A&E Editor Dagney C. Ernest can be reached at (207) 594-4401, ext. 115 or dernest@courierpublicationsllc.com.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.