Court action on radio …

105.5 Frank FM to broadcast high school basketball

By Staff | Dec 05, 2013

Rockland — WBYA, 105.5 Frank FM will broadcast high school basketball for a fourth consecutive year beginning on Friday, Dec. 6 when the Oceanside Mariners of Rockland/Thomaston travel to Waldoboro to face host Medomak Valley for a doubleheader.

Veteran broadcaster Don Shields again will lead the coverage and be joined by Terry Spear and Chris Seavey for the 29-game regular-season schedule that will include Oceanside, Medomak Valley, Camden Hills, Belfast and Mount View high schools.

The station also plans to broadcast selected games involving these schools during the Eastern Class B tournament from Bangor in February.

Patrick Collins, senior vice president and market manager for Binnie Media Maine, said he is pleased to air the games again this year. “People are passionate about high school basketball and the response to our coverage from fans and sponsors has been outstanding.”

Shields, who also is the voice of the University of Maine women’s basketball team, has been the voice of Midcoast Maine high school sports since 1985, during which time he has called more than 1,200 games. Spear has covered basketball for nearly two decades in the Midcoast, Biddeford and Bath-Brunswick markets. Seavey, a former Rockland District High School athletic standout, has more than five years of on-air experience.

The radio station's 2013-14 high school basketball broadcast schedule includes:

Friday, Dec. 6 – Oceanside at Medomak Valley doubleheader, girls at 5:30 p.m., boys to follow.

Tuesday, Dec. 10 – Camden Hills at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 12 – Camden Hills at Belfast girls – 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 14 – Lincoln Academy at Oceanside doubleheader, girls at 11:15 a.m., boys to follow.

Morse at Medomak Valley girls – 6:15 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 17 – Oceanside at Belfast boys – 6:15 p.m.

Friday Dec. 20 – Waterville at Medomak Valley doubleheader, boys at 4:45 p.m., girls to follow.

Friday, Dec. 27 – Winslow at Belfast doubleheader, girls at 11:15 a.m., boys to follow.

Gardiner at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 30 – Maranacook at Medomak Valley boys – 5:45 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 3 – Camden Hills at Medomak Valley boys – 6:45 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 7 – Leavitt at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 9 – Mount View at Belfast girls – 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 11 – Morse at Oceanside girls – 12:45 p.m.

Belfast at Medomak Valley boys – 5:45 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 14 – Winslow at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 17 – Mount View at Belfast boys – 6:15 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 20 – Belfast at Oceanside boys – 12:45 p.m.

Camden Hills at Medomak Valley girls – 6:45 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 21 – Morse at Medomak Valley boys – 6:45 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 24 – Nokomis at Belfast girls – 6:15 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 28 – Camden Hills at Belfast boys – 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 31 – Medomak Valley at Oceanside doubleheader, girls at 4:45 p.m., boys to follow.

Thursday, Feb. 6 – Either Leavitt at Oceanside girls, Gardiner at Medomak Valley girls or Waterville at Belfast girls (station will select, in mid-January, the game that means the most for a local tournament team).

Tuesday, Feb. 11 and Wednesday, Feb. 12 – Eastern Class B prelim playoffs.

Friday, Feb. 14 and Saturday, Feb. 15 – Eastern Class B quarterfinal playoffs at The Cross Center in Bangor.

Wednesday, Feb. 19 – Eastern Class B semifinal playoffs at The Cross Center in Bangor.

Saturday, Feb. 22 – Eastern Class B championship at The Cross Center in Bangor.

Friday, Feb. 28 – State Class B championship at The Cross Center in Bangor.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.